The Art of doing “Nothing”

I am so busy doing nothing… that the idea of doing anything – which as you know, always leads to something – cuts into the nothing and then forces me to have to drop everything.
Jerry Seinfeld ”

So Jerry said it and it might actually be true that doing Nothing ,absolutely nothing is actually worth doing something about

I happen to read and for once digest an article in some obscure journal about the benefits of doing “absolutely nothing” for 10 whole minutes every single day.. Adds up to roughly 300 minutes of nothingness in a month, that’s 3600 minutes in a year, that’s a total of 60 hours, the equivalent of two and  half days of no brain activity..easier said than done , if you are someone like me.What is it about being busy and doing something even if its nonsensical that gives us this sense of accomplishment. “I have been so busy” is probably more of a conversation starter these days, than “How are you?”.. its the effect on the other person that the word “busy” usually has, the looks that the other person throws at you of awe and extols you as a wonder-woman, a super efficient person, who actually knows how to keep busy.

So, I decided to take the ” do -nothing” test for a week.how difficult could it be? 10 mins isn’t that long, especially when you have an alarm to remind you to get busy after your ten minutes are up. Well, like I said , easier said than done, 30 seconds into the first 10 minutes, I am wondering if the alarm is set, I check my phone and see a message on my messenger, I decide that Ill just read the message and not do anything about it, that way technically I wasn’t breaking any rules..Well the message was from my favorite shopping destination offering limited period discounts.. So I tried to not think about all the stuff I wanted to buy, for the remainder of the now 8 minutes…but the mind usually has a mind of its own, it wanders through aisles, and I keep telling it that we are taking a break from action of any kind… theres no music or TV or a book..I now decide to focus on my breath, and I wonder if i should meditate, but thats an activity too… Then I contemplate on how I can do nothing for the next 5 minutes…how can one not think, or dream or plan or dissect the day, how does one actually do nothing?? I’m still wrestling with no thought-no action idea when the alarm rings and rescues me for the day..

those were the longest 10 minutes of my life…and also the most tiring too, just stopping myself from doing anything was a task of a lifetime..and needless to say I never could get back to completing the task, one of the many that I end up leaving half way, you see I am a busy busy person who is multitasking all day..

However, I’m also an optimist, Im still looking for ways to do nothing, while blogging and  listening to music and speaking to a friend on the phone.. Mr. Seinfield, I need your inputs.. I want to do Nothing…someday…

Leave a Reply

